265 Berlinerstraße 74

Urban infill in Berlin

265 Berlinerstraße 74
265 Berlinerstraße 74
265 Berlinerstraße 74
265 Berlinerstraße 74
265 Berlinerstraße 74
265 Berlinerstraße 74

265 Berlinerstraße 74

  • title Berlinerstraße 74
  • client Bauwert
  • location Berlin - Pankow
  • size ca. 10 000 m² GFA
  • time period 2019
  • types of assignment preliminary design
  • status competition
  • photographer -
  • budget ca. 28 000 000 € (net)
  • category

The planned residential complex fits snugly into a rear site in the transitional zone of diverging urban structures. The heterogeneous surroundings call for an explicit address generation with an expansive gesture.

 

 

Urban infill in Berlin

 

The site is situated in a zone where dissimilar urban structures share a common border ­– the historically evolved city in the direction of Prenzlauer Berg, modern apartment tracts in the direction of Pankow. The parcel located in a courtyard is oriented to the former GDR embassy district, the block core and the new courtyard building of the adjoining Gotland quarter. It completes the block perimeter buildings that were destroyed in the War and creates low-density infill. The situation is somewhat different with the site on Berliner Strasse, whose development is to take place adjacent to modernized slab buildings. In order to create an inviting situation for the planned infill development in the block interior and to contribute to the upgrading of the area, it was necessary to design a forecourt from which the residents could reach their respective entrances through a passage. Gnädinger Architekten has responded to the special location with a specific design proposal. Contrary to the conception of city planners and developer, they envisage the removal of the slanting wing of the building to form an adequate entrance zone. In the interior the required setbacks are preserved, creating an inner-city block core with a high amenity value.

 

Formally, the “Pearl of the interior” with six levels and set-back storey orientates itself to the neighbouring Gotland and offers this neighbourhood an urban counterpart. The specific place at the interface of two urban structures calls for a temporary design that will appeal to the target group. The draft design meets the economic requirements with a series of measures. The masonry construction with a perforated façade and standardized timber window elements forms the basis for an efficient building envelope. The cleverly organized underground garage and a mix of well-conceived floor plans secure the economic viability of the residential complex, in which the ratio of gross floor area to leasable net usable space is >80 %.

 

Suspended balconies made of prefabricated concrete panels, recessed loggias and a carefully differentiated choice of materials ensure a high residential value. With a clear architectural language, Berliner Strasse in Pankow extends an invitation to experience urban living in the “backyard”.

next project:

309 CCC

previous project:

301 Berlinerstrasse 129

265 Berlinerstraße 74

Berliner Nachverdichtung

265 Berlinerstraße 74
265 Berlinerstraße 74
265 Berlinerstraße 74
265 Berlinerstraße 74
265 Berlinerstraße 74
265 Berlinerstraße 74

265 Berlinerstraße 74

  • Name Berlinerstraße 74
  • Bauherr Bauwert
  • Ort Berlin - Pankow
  • Größe ca. 10 000 m² BGF
  • Projektierung 2019
  • Leistungsbild 1-2
  • Status Wettbewerb
  • Fotograf -
  • Kosten ca. 28 000 000 € (netto)
  • Kategorie

Im Spannungsfeld unterschiedlicher Stadtstrukturen fügt sich die geplante Wohnanlage in eine rückseitig gelegene Grundstücksfläche. Das heterogene Umfeld erfordert eine explizite Adressbildung mit einladender Geste.

 

 

Berliner Nachverdichtung

 

Im Umfeld des Grundstücks stoßen ungleiche städtebauliche Strukturen aufeinander: Richtung Prenzlauer Berg die gewachsene, historische Stadt, Richtung Pankow neuzeitliche Wohnzeilen. Das im Hinterhof liegende Grundstück orientiert sich zum ehemaligen Botschaftsviertel der DDR, zum Blockinneren und zur neuen Hofbebauung des benachbarten Quartiers Gotland. Dieses komplettiert über Eck den kriegszerstörten Blockrand und verdichtet im Innern mit lockerer Hofbebauung. Beim Grundstück in der Berliner Straße stellt sich die Situation anders dar. Dessen Erschließung erfolgt vorbei an modernisierten Plattenbauten. Um für die geplante Nachverdichtung im Blockinneren eine einladende Situation zu schaffen und zur guten Adressbildung des Areals beizutragen, galt es einen Vorbereich auszubilden, von dem aus die Bewohner durch eine Passage zu ihren jeweiligen Eingängen kommen.   Auf die besondere Lage reagierten Gnädinger Architekten daher mit einem spezifischen Entwurfsansatz. Im Unterschied zur Vorstellung von Stadtplanung und Bauherrin sieht er die Rücknahme des abgeschrägten Gebäudeflügels vor und schafft somit adäquaten Eingangsbereich. Im Innern werden gleichwohl Abstandsflächen gewahrt und ein innerstädtischer Hof mit hohem Aufenthaltswert entsteht.

 

Formal orientiert sich die „Perle im Innern“ mit sechs Stockwerken und Staffelgeschoß am benachbarten Gotland und bietet diesem Quartier ein städtebauliches Pendant. Der spezifische Ort am Schnittpunkt zweier Stadtstrukturen verlangt eine zeitgemäße Ausrichtung die von der interessierten Zielgruppe gesucht wird. Dem wirtschaftlichen Anspruch wird der Entwurf durch eine Reihe von Maßnahmen gerecht. Der Mauerwerksbau mit Lochfassade und standardisierten Fensterelementen aus Holz bildet die Basis einer effizienten Gebäudehülle. Die klug organisierte Tiefgarage und ein Mix durchdachter Grundrisse sichern die Wirtschaftlichkeit der Wohnanlage, bei der die Effizienz von Bruttogeschossfläche zur vermietbarer Nutzfläche bei >80 Prozent liegt.

 

Vorgehängte Balkone aus Fertigbalkonplatten, eingerückte Loggien und eine sorgfältig differenzierte Materialwahl schaffen dabei hohen Wohnwert. Mit klarer Architektursprache lädt die Berliner Straße in Pankow zum urbanen Wohnen im „Hinterhof“ ein.

Zurück:

301 Berlinerstrasse 129